Dogfish and Road-Signs

Scientific Illustration was not my first choice as a career path. Until last year, I had set my sights on a field called Genetic Counselling. It’s hard, striving to achieve something for years when suddenly, in a quick succession of events, you realize you’re not cut out for it and you’re dropped onto a new Path. If you don’t land just right, you may just twist your ankle.

DogfishDigestiveSample

This drawing is part of all that, for me. I went from the cancerous feeling that I wasn’t good at anything I had worked so long for, to the realization that I was good at something. What you see here is how I studied for Vertebrate biology. Looking back, it wasn’t my first step towards Scientific Illustration, but it was certainly one of the first with a road-sign.

One thought on “Dogfish and Road-Signs

Leave a Reply

