Take Me Back to Bamfield

BamfieldNotes

Bamfield is one of the most wonderful places I have had the good fortune to visit not once, but twice. It is a small town with a world-class marine research centre, on the west coast of Vancouver Island. Much of the research done there is focused on invertebrates, but during my second visit, last fall, I met some who studied algae. One such scientist is a retired Simon Fraser University professor, who has taken up kelp farming (he supplies the cosmetic company, LUSH, with most- if not all- of their fresh seaweed, here in British Columbia).

During my last visit, I asked if any Scientific Illustrators have worked in Bamfield. None have. I hope one day I will be fortunate enough to change that.

Today’s post are some of my field notes from my first visit, last February.

 

Leave a Reply

