Pinning Insects… For Kids!

Pinned Insects by Laura Ulrich

 

Here is the prototype for a craft I designed and taught at Scout Island last summer, with kids ages 8 to 12. The kids (or in this case, I) had to draw a habitat “life size” on a piece of paper, which was then glued onto a block of foam. I then taught them how to pin an insect, pinning it directly onto their picture-block. In the case of winged insects (such as butterflies and dragonflies) the kids were also guided in how to spread/pin the wings so that they would stay open.

On another note, I am very excited to say that I am finished for the term! I’ll be starting a new job (teaching kids again, but in different aspects of science), travelling to new parts of BC, reading things that aren’t textbooks (I can’t wait to start The Resurrectionist: The Lost Work of Dr. Spencer Black, and The Natural History of Dragons!) and finding time for all these projects I have sketched out on scrap paper.

Here’s to the start of a fabulous summer!

Leave a Reply

