Every Biologist Needs Their Notebook

I am very excited to show you my latest project: a book for all of my insect notes!

I started binding books in my first year of university when I finally ran out of gifted sketchbooks. I hadn’t realized how expensive sketchbooks were- and so instead, I spent $5 on a pack of paper and, using supplies I already had, quickly fell into one of my most beloved pastimes. The technique I use works very well for making sketchbooks, as the stitching allows the books to lay flat when open.

This most recent project combines my old hobby with a new one- entomology! I greatly enjoyed gathering insect specimens while working at Scout Island last summer. And, as I am planning on taking an entomology course in the fall, I figured I may as well start making my own collection over the summer! That my work sends me to various parts of British Columbia only makes it better- I have already collected some interesting specimens from the Northern reaches of the province, as well as the lower mainland.

And without further ado, some pictures!

EFNFrontCover

EFNBack    EFNspine

EFNMothDetail

The moth on the front cover is Smerinthus jamaicensis, the Twin-spotted Sphinx. It was one of the first species of insect I ever pinned, back at Scout Island. It was painted in watercolour.

The back cover is a recreation of a woodblock print by Katsushika Hokusai. It reminds me of an insect version of Da Vinci’s Vitruvian Man.

See you next week!

One thought on “Every Biologist Needs Their Notebook

Leave a Reply

