Anniversaries All Around

Yesterday marked the first anniversary of Monsters and Molecules!

I’m not sure what people usually write on these occasions. I have no giveaways to give, and I feel like it’s cheap to use my Stats page for bragging rights… That said, there is one little bit I would like to share from there, because I think it is pretty neat; Monsters and Molecules has been viewed in 54 different countries!

I dream of the whole world one day looking like Ontario in OctoberThe world is a huge place, and it both thrills and terrifies me that I have brought both Science and Art to so many. Maybe I even educated a few, who knows. Many people seem to come here to learn about lymph nodes, or to study spiny dogfish and their anatomy. I have even had a surprisingly large number of people view my diagram on S1P interactions (if you are one of those people, please make a comment and tell me what keeps bringing you back- I’m dying to know!). For about a week, I had a huge spike in views on Hypsignathus monstrosus as concern over the Ebola virus grew (thanks Dr. Lowenberger, for giving me the tip that I should draw bats).

Probably the coolest thing to happen this year was being invited to have my blog showcased on Science Borealis, an amazing site showcasing science blogs from across Canada (thank you, Mel and Sarah, for making that happen!)… which is closely followed by Monsters and Molecules being mentioned not once, but twice, in a post written by the Multimedia Editors, Raymond Nakamura and Lisa Willemse (thank you so much, you made this girl extremely happy!). Life may have become a tad more stressful (hello, grad program? Please let me be one of your 16 students next year!) and certainly busier, but I have never been more happy. Science and Art are as much a part of me as my right and left kidneys. I can survive with just one… okay, that is a terrible metaphor because you can have a pretty solid standard of living with just one kidney. I can’t- I went without Art for the first three years of my undergrad and I’m not giving it up ever again. I’ll probably have Science so long as I can think.

Unfortunately, I do not have a fresh piece of work with which to celebrate. That’s mostly due to school, but also due to me using my free time this week to make a poster for another important anniversary. Science AL!VE, the undergrad-run organization at Simon Fraser University, whose mandate is to make science available for all youth, is turning 20 years old this year! So, if you’re in the Burnaby area and are looking for a family-fun day* full of super cool science, come up to SFU** on Saturday (Sept. 13th, 2014) and join in the celebration! There will be live science shows, hands-on activities and challenges for everyone. The best part? It’s totally free.

*from 10am to 3pm
** SFU’s Applied Science Building Atrium

And because I know you want to see it, here’s the poster I made for it:
These are not the actual robots used by Science AL!VE-- they have Lego Mindstorms!

Leave a Reply

