3D Rookie

Caution: The images in this post are unpolished works-in-progress, and bare a resemblance to things you may find uncomfortable.

Until recently, my experience with 3D modeling has consisted of a brief childhood obsession with making pillars and cups in 3D Studio Max, and playing pseudo-modeling games like Spore and The Sims. I never even took Sculpture in high school. Considering that the grad program I have spent the past two years preparing for focuses on computer generated art, I am extremely lucky to be taking the 3D Modeling course here at SFU. So far I have learned a lot, especially in regards to using one of the biggest programs in the industry- Maya.

One of the most important things I have learned is how to deal with how VAST the program is. If you have ever used Photoshop, imagine there was a drop-down menu where each choice changed your entire workspace, giving you access to new and unique tools. Now multiply that by 30. My first impressions lasted about 2 minutes, as that was all the time it took for me to get lost and shut it down, despite the Introductory Tutorial I was watching at the time. However, using it almost every day for the past three weeks (has it really been that long?!), I have gotten better. I can control my view, and navigate around my model, even manipulate and sculpt it a bit. Most importantly, if there’s something I want to do that I haven’t done before, I can usually find a tutorial on how to do it.

So without further ado, I present some of my recent… experiments.

LauraUlrich_VilliPlaneModelVilli modeled from a single polygon plane

LauraUlrich_VilliRender2 LauraUlrich_VilliRender1
A single villi that was modeled and duplicated/rotated repeatedly.

Intestinal Villi are finger-like projections which line your small intestine. They’re responsible for absorbing all the nutrients from the food you eat; to help them in this, their surface is quite wrinkly to increase its surface area.

LauraUlrich_ErythrocyteModel

Erythrocytes (red blood cells). The one of the far left is the original model, who was then duplicated/rotated.

One thought on “3D Rookie

Leave a Reply

