A Naturalist’s Treasures

I am pleased to announce that as of last Thursday, I have officially applied for a Masters in Biomedical Communication with the University of Toronto! The past few weeks have been a rush of finishing a commission in addition to other portfolio pieces, getting together paperwork, and writing a letter of intent that left me feeling amazed by the path that lead me here. The signs may have been misleading as to where I thought I intended to go, but the path they set me on was a relatively straight one.

Today’s picture has been a real labour of love. There is a reason why most of my work is done digitally; it’s less of a physical strain, much faster, and much more forgiving. That said, it was a delight to work on something away from the screen for once. For this, I used coloured pencils.

Laura Ulrich Still Life

For professional work, I think I’ll keep things digital. But for play, this sort of thing is just fine.

3 thoughts on “A Naturalist’s Treasures

Leave a Reply

