Ch-Ch-Changes

Change. A funny word, striking a chord of fear and excitement deep in my chest, and at the same time evoking images of immensely slow transformations.

I have spent the past 18 years of my life in school. When this year started, I thought I was in for an extra long holiday before crossing the country and going to grad school for medical illustration. But then I got an email saying that wasn’t going to be the case.

For a while, every minute was a different hue. Dismay, fury, frustration, a morbid sense of relief… I felt like someone had ripped the final chapters out of my book. I was untethered. I was free of the future I had written for myself.

And freedom is terrifying.

February rolled in, and with it came a wave of luck so forceful it left me positively nauseous. In less than week I went from application to employment (I am now the Marketing Assistant at Aurora Biomed!). At the same time, I was contacted by a local medical illustrator who had gone through the same grad program that I had applied for. We met, and she gave me a lot of options and, perhaps most importantly, a lot of hope that my  career isn’t reliant on me having a Masters of Biomedical Communications. I was also contacted by UBC’s Sharing Science club (www.ubcsharingscience.org) to have M&M listed in their directory-of-sorts. Which is pretty nifty!

Maybe one day I’ll do the program. I’m considering going to one of the local art schools instead, but in the mean time, I think I’m content with working and building my portfolio on my own. Plus, choosing an art program would likely mean I would need to choose between animation and illustration.

So there you have you it, a progress report on Laura’s Life as a Scientific Artist. Circumstantial pressures have molded it into something I could not have imaged two months ago. Nothing in life makes sense to me anymore, except in the light of evolution.

DarwinsFinches

One thought on “Ch-Ch-Changes

Leave a Reply

